Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads

It is such a remarkable tendency that the number of countries owing railway systems had grown. While some people argue that it is high time that Government paid more attentions to railways instead of roads, from my view, do I both concur and dispute with this statement due to following reasons.

On the one hand, there are several benefits that railway lines should be invested rather than roads. First and for most, it is believed to be one of the most effective methods of transportation in the future for city dwellers. Not only saving time but residents also gain little money since buying ticket is more inexpensive than owing a private vehicle. Furthermore, moving from one place to another by trains is safer and quite quicker than by car or motorbike. Secondly, the more cutting-edge railways systems are namely subway and high-speed train, the less contaminated the air pollution is. Whereas preventing the environment from fumes has been of increasing concern, should individual means of transportation are minimized, CO2 will be eliminated dramatically that leads to the savage of public purse.

On the other hand, I disagree with this opinion due to the number of drawbacks. To begin with, it is such a long-lasting plan that the Government should take many factors into consideration namely geography, modern technologies, labour forces and burden as well. Providing that the combination of these conditions is less efficient, either train or road transport will have the bad quality. However, instead of spending a huge amount of money developing railway system, enhancing current types of transport especially road is believed to be better. Next, the increasing in number of railways leads to many extra requirements. For example, apart from setting up both stations and automatic ticket machines, tracks are necessary to be checked and improved frequently that consumes a numerous of public burden. Moreover, how to encourage local residents to travel by trains has been also complicated because they feel it uncomfortable to exchange many trains during a whole long trip.

In conclusion, whether train is preferred to be manufactured to other forms of transport or not that depends on how a country's situations and what the Government's policies are.