It is no doubt true that the majority of people want to live a happy life. While there are difficulties in explaining the nature of happiness, it seems that most of us human share similar needs in regard to achieving or finding happiness.

There are various reasons why happiness is hard to define accurately. One of the reasons is due to the fact that happiness is an emotional state and an abstract idea, making it hard to depict in words as it is unphysical and invisible. Moreover, everyone has different mental states, as well as characteristics, therefore they have distinct approaches to the idea of “being happy”. For instance, “having uncounted millions of dollars” is usually adults’ definition of happiness, whereas it is seldom children’s. For example, I personally love to play video games while my mother not only hates it but also frequently addressed it as a “waste of time”.

Many people claim that in order to experience happiness, at least human basic needs or even psychological needs have to be fulfilled. This means that we must have a well-paying job, foods to eat, somewhere to stay and so on. On the other hand, for some people, dependable relationships with family and peers outweigh other requirements because nothing matters if we do not have someone to share our experiences with. Although in my experience, happiness is neither about fulfilling our desires nor establishing connections but rather to be satisfied with what we have and also embrace it.

In sum, happiness is a state of mind where it is filled with positive or pleasant emotions and what creates it depends on oneself. While many people think that accomplishing what we need is the only way to be happy, there are other ideas such as having a family and reliable friends or life satisfaction.