Higher education could be funded in three ways. All costs paid by government, all costs paid by students or students paying all costs through a government loan. What are the advantages of these choices?

The smooth operation of a university relies not only the efforts of staff and faculties but also sources of income. University funding benefits the society as a whole and individuals as well. Both parties are expected to bear the cost. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages of three models of funding.

To begin with, the primary function of government is to gurantee the basic rights of its citizens, among which the right to have access to education is prominent. University funding by government means lower cost on the part of university attendees, which is especially important to prospective students who are denied education because of financial reasons. In this sense, government ensures equal access to education for its citizens. In addition, the society as a whole also benefits from a better-educated population who are often idea generators for social development.

Individuals who are better educated are often offered more opportunities in terms of work and life. Research shows that a holder of bachelor’s degree is often better financially rewarded than those with a lower level of education. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect students to pay for the cost. After all, they are the beneficiary of the higher education. Another advantage of asking them to pay for the cost is to teach them to be responsible for their choices. High school fees, to some extent, might prompt them to study for the money’s worth.

Student loan provided by government allows students who are otherwise denied by high cost to repay the fee when they are ready. Government also ensures equal access to education regardless of economic status of students. The scheme benefits both individuals and society.

To sum up, each of the models has its advantages. Both students and government should make contributions to the cost. Appropriate loan schemes should also be provided to prospective students.