IELTS 6 Test 2 Writing Task 2 - Academic

Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, due to people and government’s growing interest of sports, many sport professionals are now enjoying the reputation and incomes as much as those singers and movie actors, or even more. However, not all people agree that it is justified for other professionals, which are also claimed to be equally important. I would discuss both sides in the following, and provide my personal opinion afterwards.

It may be true that sports professionals are paid much higher than other professionals. There is a research conducted lately on the top 10 income jobs in the world, and it turns out soccer player is at top of the list. Unlike the other occupations, there are some critical features in sports playing that differ from other jobs significantly. Above all, the training required to be sport professional are extremely hard, where tons of time and energy spent in. Unfortunately audience may not be able to see how hard the sportsman are being trained on the TV screen, but only their glories moment in winning the competitions. Also, some sports may lead to lifelong injuries to the player that they have to retire earlier than other occupation workers. Last but not least, should the sports player wining an international competition, it will bring reputation and proud to its countries and people. With all these considerations, it makes sense to reward the sportsman with high compensation than other occupations.

However, we shall also think about those who work very hard and contribute to the society in a less direct but equally important way. Take sanitation worker for example. Without their work, our public environment will be unbearable, and even harmful for citizens to live. Other examples include construction workers and farmers, who make home to protect us, and food to keep us alive. Yet, all their contributions are being neglected by the society, and their payment are far behind from sport professionals.

In my opinion, the income shall be different to reflect people’s effort. By looking to sports man’s earnings by the contrast of other important occupations does not make any difference to improve the unjustified situation. The government should make sure those who contribute equally to society deserve a better payment, and everyone of us should try to understand these people’s hard work and pay them the respect they deserve. The more value we see from other occupations, the more justified compensation will be provided to them.