IELTS Writing Task 2 - Education

Could you help me improve my IELTS writing, please? I really appreciate that. Thank you in advance!

Question: Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Answer:

The tuition fee for higher education is always an issue appealing to people’s attention. It is said that the governments should abolish fees to allow everyone to access university, but it seems to me this suggestion will have more disadvantages than advantages.

There are many compelling reasons why students should be permitted to pursue college without a fee. On the individual level, after graduating from university, people will have sufficient skills, knowledge to get a decent job. It will help them take care of themselves and support their family. On the societal level, a lot of skilled laborers will push the economy, which will result in a thriving economy. Moreover, a society with many educated people will be a civilized one.

Although waiving tuition has some benefits, I would contend that it still has some adverse on both students and society. First, if everyone can easily access to higher education, without fee, they won’t appreciate their study. It will lead to a bad result so this method may cost both government's budget and student’s time. Second, the government has a ton of things to pay for such as medical, traffic, national defense,... so that coverage for all student’s tuition at university can put a strain on government coffers. Consequently, it will make budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced welfare among others.

Despite some advantages of abolishing tuition, the disadvantages will overshadow them so I strongly believe that government should continue to charge for higher education.