It is often said that high illiteracy rate is one of the most alarming issues in many countries, especially less affluent ones these days. There are two main causes, and two key impacts, which I will outline now.

Perhaps the most widely-observed factor is the lack of education, meaning that there are not enough education facilities in relation to the population’s size. It is notable, for example, that the scarcity of schools or even class rooms has resulted in many African children stopping going to school. Another well-known root may be the families’ financial backgrounds, which means that numerous parents are too poor to let their children pursue higher education, as such youngsters have to start working to support their families financially as soon as they can. Examples can be seen in Thailand, where lots of kids have been sent to boxing clubs to be trained with the sole purpose of becoming professional fighters so that these boxers would be able to join in commercial tournaments.

Turning to the depressing effects of illiteracy, the most severe impact would be the high unemployment rate, as many young adults are uneducated and have few job opportunities. In fact, this may potentially lead to such youngsters being tempted to get involved in petty crimes such as shoplifting or vandalism, making the crime rate become dangerously high. A further long-term influence would be for nations to lack a large number of well-educated workers, weakening the foreign investment. Consequently, the economic prospects of these countries are less likely to be improved, lessening the development of such nations to some extent.

In conclusion, the main causes of illiteracy generally relate to education system and families’ income status, whereas the impacts are seen in high joblessness rate and slow economic growth.