"The illiterates of the 21st century are not those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn"- Alvin Toffler. Explain the statement and do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the question “whether those who cannot learn or the people who cannot read and write are illiterate or not?” has become a long-running dispute among the public all over the world. It is a widely held view that learning new methods and technologies is highly beneficial. I tend to believe that one must carefully weigh up the pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is a common view that learning plays a vital role in the world of science. First and foremost is that since we have been living in a developing world it is crucial to learn and get familiar with the function of modern devices and technologies, such as computer and the Internet. Secondly, it can be argued that without learning the latest achievements it is hard to find an appropriate job. In addition to this information, it should be mentioned that the scientists by reviewing and learning previous methods will be able to promote their knowledge. A group of scientists, working at prestigious university conducted that the recent prosperities in terms of medicine, education, and technology have been made by continual efforts and learnings.

However, there is no doubt that the importance of learning rather than reading and writing provides various negative points. It should be taken into account that learning new subjects is an integral part of the capability of reading and writing. Moreover, without having the ability of reading and writing achievement to methods of learning is impossible.

To recapitulate, I entirely agree with learning as a prominent factor of literacy. However, as every garden may have some weeds, the local authorities are recommended to enforce restrict legislation, and the individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.