The importance of academic subjects as compared to extracurricular activities is increasing everyday. Some people suggest that sports classes should be sacrificed in High School so students can concentrate on Academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

We live in a highly competitive era where the importance of good education is extremely high, especially when it comes to establishing one's career. This is the reason why parents today motivate their children to pay more attention to academic subjects at school and not get involved in extracurricular activities. Even some people demand sacrificing sports classes for allowing students to concentrate more on academic subjects. However my inclination doesn't fall in line with their view.

I have sound reasons why the suggestion in question is not a valid one. To begin with, sports classes offer good physical and psychological relaxation, both are vital to do well in academics. Hence sports classes should never be compromised. Secondly, one learns numerous valuable attributes of life while participating in different sports such as punctuality, discipline, cordination, strategy development and how to handle the performance pressuee. One can't learn the same by being in the four walls of classrooms all the time. Finally, career in sports, nowadays, is also quite promising. A successful sportsperon can earn billions.

However, on the other side, advocates of the statement may come up with the arguments that sports sessions should be removed because they distract the students from their vital goal- that is to study only. Moreover, the economies of the world are growing in such a way that better academic degrees will be essential to survive and grow in the future. So, more times should be given to academic subjects only.

All in all, I opine that academic subjects are becoming very important these days, but it does not imply that we should remove classes from school. Thus, I disagree with the the statement because I firmly believe that we need healthy, sporty and energetic graduates to lead the future world.