An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this case, and what solutions are possible?

An enormous increase in consumer goods production leads to environmental damage. This essay will look at some primary causes of this and offer some possible solutions to the problem.

There are a number of reasons for the serious destruction of the environment. The first reason is the mass production of disposable goods and chemical by-products cause more toxic waste and emissions released from factories into nature. As a result, water, air, and soil are polluted which leads to the deaths of many plants and animals over the world. The second reason is that single-use products that are manufactured in response to customers’ increasing demands are non-biodegradable. Despite their short lifespan, these products can remain as waste for thousands of years, turning our planet into a huge landfill and threatening the living habitats of all species. For example, disposable plastic bags used for food packing are littered everywhere. They are mixed in soil and water and do not decompose, which results in preventing the creatures living there from respiring.

There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, the government should encourage manufacturers to use alternative materials and resources to fossil fuels that are eco-friendlier such as solar resources. This helps to reduce pollutant emissions released into the environment. Secondly, goods must be used for a long time before being removed. Technological goods, for instance, are the case in point. Using high-tech gadgets longer and recycling them helps to reduce the amount of waste from electronic components.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the destruction of the natural environment and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.