An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

The past few decades have witnessed an unprecedented increase in the number of people finding the items which they need online and buying them without going out of their home. In this essay, an attempt will be made to discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

To begin with, the first advantage of buying items online is that the purchaser can save their time. This is because they don’t have to move from this shop to another to select the objects which are suited to them. In addition, they just need to stay at home, surf the Internet shopping website and find the item and compare it with others on other websites to make final decision. Another merit which has to be mentioned is that they do not have to go out of their home. That is very essential in Covid19 situation because it can eliminate the direct contact among people, which effectively prevents this virus from attacking people. According to statistics published recently in Vietnam, online shopping reduces the great amount of people infected by this disease. Therefore, buying online certainly has a positive impact on our society.

However, on the other hand, there are also some obvious disadvantages of this phenomenon. It is common to see that people purchasing online are cheated by online shops. To put it another way, they sometimes buy wrong items, which are low-quality or different in size which they require and so on. These products are not as good as they expected. Take my sister as an example. Last week, she bought a dress, which looks quite beautiful and attractive in the picture of this shop. She decided to buy it after being given advice about size and material from the shop’s staff. Subsequently, when trying it on, she was upset a lot because it was too tight for her to wear. Consequently, it is clear that shopping online also has negative aspects.

In conclusion, this phenomenon could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.