An increasing number of people are changing careers during their working life. What are the reasons for this? Does it have a positive or negative development for society?

it is every day more common to hear about people changing jobs to new areas they were not previous">previously familiarized with. Mainly because of the fast pace of technology and the job market. Recent innovations, such as, artificial intelligence and machine learning have created many high paying jobs that did not exist 20 years ago. but they have also destroyed many middle level positions that were previous">previously done by humans, forcing these workers to adapt and reinvent themselves. Moving to new fields and positions they had not done before. In the next paragraphs I will state my reasons to believe this increasing trend of changing of careers has negatively affected society and quality of life.

In the first place, changing careers means there are people who no longer can or want to practice their previous career. we should be asking ourselves, why is this happening? Two university professors from Harvard university have published a novel research argueing the fear of becoming obsolete is the main reason to change careers. Therefore, the trend of changing careers originates from an uncertain job market that does not allows workers to feel confident about their future job prospectives and not from pure desire for change. Generating a feeling of constant struggle and stress that affects worker's quality of life.

Additionaly, the rise of changes in people's careers means it is becoming harder to find real experts of their respective fields. While this might not be critical for many job posts or fields, there are areas where expertise is a critical requierement. For example, the health sector needs profesisonals with vast experience in the field in order to diagnose illnesses and treating them correctly. The additional difficulty to find this experts will mean that in the future we will be treated by people with less experience. increasing the risk of mistreatment or accidental deaths.

Nevertheless, it is true that in spite of the lack of experienced professionals; innovation has not stop. this could mean that technology will find ways to fill the expertise gaps in the professional entering critical fields like healthcare or transportation and allow them to continue offering the previous service level we are used to.

In conclusion, people changing careers midway their working life has had negative effects in society and people's quality of life. However, there is still hope that technology might help mitigated this adverse effects. but until then, workers will have to fight with the constant fear of becoming obsolete and the lack of experienced professionals.