An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the present-day world, more people pay attention to improving their appearance through plastic surgeries. While it is understandable the reasons behind this ongoing trend, I personally believe that it may negatively impact social cognition in the long run.

The biggest reason why people choose cosmetic surgeries is to gain self-esteem. In fact, many people were born with physical problems or genetic disorders, such as misshapen noses or overly large breasts, which unfavourably affect their looking. Consequently, most of these people feel self-deprecating about their appearance and even themselves. Also, with these physical shortcomings, they hardly join in many sport activities. Therefore, conducting esthetic surgeries is one of the most sensible solutions, helping them be more confident and love themselves more. As a result, they may perform better at work since they believe in themselves more and can get involved in many physical activities.

Despite the incredible effects of getting cosmetic surgeries, I do not totally think this is a positive development. Firstly, it may have many side effects like infection or scars, which cannot only improve customers' appearance but also worsen. Secondly, those kinds of surgery are pricey and can be spent on other things like investing in studies or improving health. Also, since there are so many beauty hospitals nowadays, finding a reliable one is challenging, risky and somehow, it is the same as they gamble their life in a lottery game. Lastly, if cosmetic surgeries become a popular trend, society will favour people's appearance and disrespect or underestimate internal beauty such as intelligence, compassion, integrity, and sympathy.

In conclusion, conducting cosmetic surgeries has both pros and cons. Therefore, people have to think through before making their decisions.