An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Computers and tablets have a wide range of features which will enable students to solve difficult problems with ease in a short span of time. Computers and tablets with internet access will give students vast opportunities to help in doing research, and showcase their talent on a global scale. It can be environment-friendly also, since we are replacing books and other printed materials. However, with all the advancements in social networking apps, and games, it is easy for students to get lost in this labyrinth, which will affect their grades.

For instance, papers are usually manufactured using trees. A large number of trees are being cut down to manufacture papers, which will have an impact on the ecosystem. We should try to minimize deforestation and promote aforestation. By using computers and tablets to carry out exams, assignments and other things, we can reduce the amount of deforestation. Also, with all the new learning apps like Byju's application, students will get to see the videos showing practical applications of what they are learning. It will help in understanding the topic better which is not possible with just some books and printed material.

However, students often get addicted to online games like PUBG, playing it all the time which may result in improper preparation for exams thereby affecting their grades. With exposure to many social applications that allow users to create anonymous accounts, students often get encouraged at bullying others, which should not be tolerated. So these things should be under control, then only students will be able to achieve their goal.

Looking at computers and tablets display can cause eye damage to students. The ultraviolet rays emerging from the screen are very harmful to human eyes. Prolonged exposure may cause permanent damage to eyes in long term. Prevention is better than cure, so we should minimize using laptops and tablets as much as possible. And allow students to use books and other printed materials.

Even though schools aims to provide top class education by relacing books and other study materials with computers and laptops which will enhance the students learning experience and help them in being more productive, one should also consider the adverse effect it has on students. If such negative aspects can be controlled by careful management, then only using such new technology will be fruitful.