Recent years have witnessed a rising quantity of students having a propensity to study overseas for their further education. This essay seeks to elaborate on both the merits and demerits of this tendency as well as voice my own opinion.

There is no denying that when first studying in a foreign country, scholars may come up against a lot of obstacles. First and foremost, most students in general have a sense of homesickness as they have to live far from their families and have few opportunities to gather with their families, usually in summer vacation or some special occasions such as Tet Holiday celebration in their own countries. Therefore, they may feel isolated at first and not focused on their studying, causing bad performance. Another disadvantage of this development is the cultural shock. It is understandable that each culture has its own conception, thus, in some cases, students might be discriminated by their conduct, which seems to be inappropriate in other cultures. To exemplify, in some countries such as Germany or the USA, though one seems to arrive on time, it is considered late, hence he will have to be at least ten minutes earlier in order to be on time so that he will not be criticized for being disorganised.

Notwithstanding, I am of firm conviction that as students have to continue to study, they will soon have to accommodate themselves with these problems, therefore, the two aformentioned disadvantages are overshadowed by the long term perks including knowledge enrichment as well as higher income. To begin with, when exposing themselves to a new culture, they can broaden their horizons about its features, history and so on. Additionally, their language skills is also enhanced. This is strikingly exemplified by the fact that studying in English-speaking countries is the best way to improve their command of English. Aside from this, international incorporations are seeking versatile employees so they they can foster the acceleration of economic growth. Thus, speaking a global language fluently, particularly English, is an advantage in relation to others who are not good at English. As a result, they take priority over other opponents who apply for the same position and stand a chance of being promoted and getting higher salary than others.

Taking everything into consideration, although the downsides of studying overseas for higher education still exist, I am of the opinion that they are undoubtedly outweighed by the advantages for the students' future career in the long run.