With an increasing population communication via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past.

To what extend do you agree?

Technological progress in the last couple of decades has been astonishing, which has altered, to varying extents, every aspect of our lives. Internet, arguably one of the most evolutionary technologies, play a big role in our daily lives now and the way we interact with each other. Unlike the past, where people had to meet in person for discussing matters, the general population has turned to their smartphones and internet for interactions with each other recently. The effects of online communication and whether it will wipe-out the need for in-person meeting completely are discussed below.

Some people argue that it is better to use internet instead of physically present discussions for communications. To begin with, they claim, online interactions are much less time consuming as there is no need for travelling from one place to another. It also is much cost effective as you pay only for internet bandwidth charges, which are normally nominal, while you communicate with other users around the globe. In addition to that finding someone you need to interact, is much easier online. For example, despite not knowing the exact physical location of a person or being too distant for physical meeting, one can send a message through many online platforms such as Facebook, Whatsapp, Viber, etc and receive a reply either instantly or at most in 24 hours time.

Nonetheless others may point out that despite numerous benefits that are endowed by online interactions, it still has its limitations. First of all, their is still a slim chance that the person you try to reach online is either unable or has chosen not to access internet. In some countries internet connection, especially in the rural areas, is not available and yet a huge population is living there. A handful of other people, concerned about their privacy, do not interact through internet. In addition, In instances where prompt response is desired, online interaction is often ineffective and other ways of contacting, including face-to-face meeting, shall be sought. Similarly, another benefit of meeting others in-person is that it is more effective for persuasion while discussing important matters.

To conclude, unless someday we have hologram technology indistinguishable from the reality, one-to-one meeting for interactions are irreplaceable in important situations. In daily life though, interacting over the internet is a preferred option that saves us a lot of time and money.