Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the most optimal way to deal with growing traffic and pollution problems is to increase the price of petrol. From my point of view, this is true to some extent but it is not the best way to counter this problem.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the higher price of petrol helps people convert to more eco-friendly vehicles or public transport. The outcome of raising petrol’s price can make people use public means of transport such as buses or trains as these options are cheaper than paying for gasoline itself. This theory has been proven by countries such as Hong Kong or Germany, where gasoline costs around $2 to $3 per liter, has a more developed train system than those countries with lower prices. However, the line of reasoning above is not sound due to a fact that in some countries with relatively high cost of petrol such as the United States of America ( peaked at $3.4/liter in April 2024) or the United Kingdom ($2/liter in September 2024) are still prone to traffic jam and pollution. In addition, increasing gasoline prices can lead to many problems such as a rise in raw material prices. This can make companies reduce their workforce to compensate for the higher petrol prices.

On the other hand, there are several ways to ease traffic and pollution problems. One of the viable options is to develop the infrastructure and enhance the transport system. Cities with efficient, affordable and reliable public transport networks experience lower levels of car usage and traffic congestion. For example, countries such as South Korea or Japan suffer less from traffic jams due to their well-maintained transport system.

In conclusion, raising gasoline prices to solve growing traffic and pollution problems is one way to reduce traffic congestion and pollution, yet this is not the most efficient and might do more harm than good.