Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, the traffic congestion and environment pollution is elevating exponentially worldwide, which have also become a controversial issue globally. It is considered that increasing the cost of fossil fuel such as petrol is the most suitable method for mitigating the issues of increasing traffic and pollution. I strongly believe that although, higher price of petrol can reduce traffic as well as pollution significantly, but there are also some other measures, which can be effective to resolve these issues. This essay will discuss the actions or measures to solve critical problem of traffic congestion and pollution.

To begin with, even though expensive price of petrol will minimize the traffic and pollution, there are several measures to reduce these existing problems. One of the obvious measures can be removing the out- dated vehicles, which played the vital role in pollution by emitting harmful gases like carbon-dioxide. Likewise, throwing them out will obviously decrease vehicles on the roads also. Similarly, use of more public transportation rather than owing private vehicles will definitely reduce the pollution to some extent.

Moreover, encouraging people to use alternative sources of energy such as solar and electric instead of fossil like petrol sharply drop the air pollution. Furthermore, constructing the wider and broad roads, which considerably minimize the traffic during rush hours. In addition, development of other modes of transportation such railways and shuttle trains gradually decrease the traffic congestion in big and busy cities.

The survey conducted in Nepal has already announced that developing railways in different of country will consequently limit the traffic and pollution problems especially in the cities like Kathmandu, Pokhara and Butwal.

To conclude, the government of all countries should take initiation to reduce the pollution, which have become the most critical issue these days. From my point of view, concerned authorities should take action against increasing traffic jams and the consequences created by them. I suggest the government to conduct awareness programs about the pollution and threat created by it.