It is undeniably true that automobiles have become indispensable elements of our lives. However, the troubles associated with their usage and the measures to minimize them have become a subject of debate. While some people think that regulating the fuel prices is the solution, I disagree to such notion and I think there are other alternatives.

To begin with, the argument that the cost of fuel is directly proportional to the usage of vehicles does not hold true in many cases. Consider the example of India, where the price of diesel doubled over the last decade but surprisingly the number of two and four wheelers have increased by multi folds. This shows that the drivers are not at all bothered about the varying expenses.

Therefore, to address such serious concerns, smart decisions need to be taken by the governments. One of them is to shrinking the width of the roads thereby making it tough for drivers to commute on their own. However, this attempt should motivate people to use different modes of public transport. The other way is to encourage electric and solar vehicles by providing tax benefits and subsidies. For instance, many states in the USA offer refunds on the electric vehicles keeping in mind the contributions they make to the environment. What is more, civilians should also bear the responsibility of saving the nature from such anti-elements by supporting such initiatives.

In a nutshell, I think that gambling with the fuel costs doesn’t bring much change to the environment. Nevertheless, governments and individuals can responsibly work together to eradicate pollution and traffic problems.