Fuel price is one of the significant numbers for the people who own a car. Even though increasing prices of petrol might result in slight decrease of growing traffic and pollution problems, such method is not nearly the best.

Although increasing petrol price may strict some drivers on how much they drive a vehicle, overwhelming majority of them will still be driving a car in the same amount of time. The reason for this is that if people have already bought a car and it is quite convenient for them to use it, then they probably will not restrict themselves on usage of the vehicle. Take for example people that have unreliable public transport, but have work distance from their home. It is clear that these people will use cars, it was more expensive fuel. Consequently so I could conjunctions and environmental pollution by exhaust fumes will not alter significantly. Moreover, more expensive petrol would mean that people will try to store more petrol for the future. The possible further increase of the fuel price is the reason. As a result, traffic will be worsened in the first few days and only boost pollution problems.

On the other hand, there a variety of solutions that are more effective than simple increase of petrol price. Enhancing public transport and encouraging people to use it is a noticeably more reliable measure, even if it is less straightforward. For instance, decreasing price for public transport and improving quality of rides by adding special line for buses and other public transports. Consequently, traffic and pollution problems would weaken their grip.

To conclude, increasing fuel price is not the best option for encountering traffic and pollution issues, but improving public transport facilities and substitutes for own car will help.