With the increasing use and development of new technology, many machines are now able to do the work which people used to perform.

What are there advantages and disadvantages to this trend.

The advent of new technology has meant that nowadays, machines are more than capable of doing many of the tasks and job that people used to do . There are both pros and cons to this development one of the main advantages of having machines do work relates speed anf efficiency. Machines tend to be much faster and more efficient at doing repetitive type tasks such as those performed in factories. Moreover the human error factor is eliminated further saving time and cost. Although machines might require a more expensive initial outlay, their long term usage is much more economical than paying human wages by the time factors such as sick leaves annual leave and wasted time included.

However, there are also several drawbacks . Machines can not be used for every task, as often the human touch is necessary in completing certain tasks. For instance, a machine can not as yet interface with a customer or client in the same way as a human employee. Nor can they create new ideas or concepts in the innovative way that people can. Machines are also unable to show initiative . In addition, many types of machinery require considerable ans sometimes costly maintenance which can reduce their overall cost effectiveness.

All in all, machinery certainly has its place in society , supporting and freeing up people's work time so that they are able to concentrate on more interesting work and work to their strength. However machinery also has it is limitation and these need to be recognised in weighing up their advantages and disadvantages.