Whether each citizen or organization is the one to take responsibility for altering the environment is hot-debated in our complicated society these days. Although many hold that it is the large companies, rather than individuals, have more effective impacts on the environment, I strongly disagree with this statement and believe the positive changes in the environment need much efforts from both of them.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that governments and big companies have an integral part in contributing to the environment. Actions must be taken as soon as possible to minimize the negative impacts arising from environmental damage. If all the waste from factories is put into recycled process, these companies could gain lots of long-term benefits. Not only can recycling mitigate the severe water pollution from dumping waste into the river, but it also saves natural resources exhausting. Besides, there is a crucial task of strict policy for local authorities. Implementing the law of environment and then punishing individuals or organizations… might be suggested ways. Those policies could be adopted in a vast array of fields including energy resources or natural habitat.

On the other hand, impacts from individuals could also contribute to the preservation of the government. Awareness might be the first thing to be utterly enhanced in society. Every citizen should be willing to follow some behavior modifications, however small, has great importance. For instance, disposal of household waste might be sorted based on their features and divided into types such as organic waste, recyclable rubbish. It is also essential for people to be receptive to their government, thus they could easily comply with proper policy and propose their opinions. A national leader, despite having much power, could only approve a law with entire support from ordinary citizens.

In conclusion, people acting as participants bring about the change by accumulated efforts while the government and companies play a leading role in environmental challenges. Our planet needs the collaboration between individuals and groups to be ecological and balanced.