Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental issues have become an important topic among individuals and governments in the modern world. It is argued that the role of people in protecting surroundings is not trivial and environmental preservation works are only really effective when organized by authorities and big firms. Personally, I think that this is a flawed argument, and this essay will outline my reasoning.

To begin with, it is undoubtedly that governments play a major position in improving nature. Competent agencies can enact laws and other severe punishments to deter and prevent individuals or business organizations deliberately harming the habitat. For example, Singapore, the cleanest city in the globe, its reputation thanks to a series of extremely strict regulations with unbelieved fines such as the feeding of pigeons in public places is 500 USD or carrying cigarettes in person without permission is 3500 USD and strategies for developing " garden in the city", " wall garden", "roof garden", " garden everywhere". In addition, environment improvement should be considered by businesses as a part of their corporate culture. Instead of putting profit on top priority, such as they could produce products by environmentally friendly materials or invest in advanced waste treatment systems and sustainable development projects.

On the other hand, Each dwellers' role in enhancing the environment should not be underestimated. In fact, on average, per person releases approximately 1.8 kilograms of waste, especially non-recyclable plastic products on a daily basis. Consequently, many beaches and the surrounding ecosystems have been badly polluted, causing the death of various marine creatures. Therefore, citizens should limit using plastic bags and plastic merchandises that can not be recycled. Secondly, inhabitant's commuting is also one of the main factors making air pollution and global warming. Particularly, the need for owning private vehicles is on the rise, from that, the amount of CO2, CO, SO2 and so on emitted is increasing day by day. Only when people restrict travel by individual vehicles and switch to using public transports will air quality be improved.

In conclusion, with the reasons aforementioned above, I believe that preserving habitat is a common responsibility and in order to perform well the preservation of the surroundings, there must be the participation of governments, companies and residents.