People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

In recent years, migrating to large cities has been becoming a common trend as people from different areas looking for life-changing opportunities, thus causing many inconveniences such as house problems, traffic jam and pollution. Personally, I believe motivating people to move to smaller cities or rural areas is a good solution.

A dense population brings about many issues. First of all, the number of housing demand dramatically increased, resulting in a very high rent or buy price due to insufficient supply. Therefore, forcing low-income people to live in slums like poor those in HongKong where living conditions are extremely difficult. Secondly, traffic can be a serious headache. Most people prefer privately owned vehicles because they are more comfortable, faster and more flexible for doing multiple tasks on one trip than almost any form of public transport, which results in endless daily traffic jams like Los Angeles street at 5 P.M. Furthermore, with high volumes of traffic, large quantities of pollutants are being released into the atmosphere, reducing air quality and this is the main cause of the growth in the number of people suffering from respiratory disease such as lung cancer.

Authorities, thence, should encourage people moving to areas of sparse population. Not only does this help reduce the problems in big cities, but also provides the citizens with the higher chance of employment. A small population decreases the intensity of competition between job seekers as there are fewer people applying for the same position. In addition, it will reduce the number of vehicles in cities, which will definitely reduce the levels of air pollution, which is hazardous to the health of residents.

In conclusion, an overly dense population in big cities undeniable cause a lot of issues: housing problems, congestion, pollution..., and governments should support the movement of people to smaller towns and rural areas.