In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the modern society today, it is easily observed the emergence of a new tendency in which residents of metropolitan regions often opt for living by themselves or in nuclear families in lieu of multigenerational family units. In my perspective, albeit this trend has some benefits, I believe that also goes along with some negative impacts, and this essay below will outline them.

On the one hand, there are a few advantages for people to get when they live alone or in a small family. Firstly, the young will have good conditions to update themselves. For example, it is easy to see that many students nowadays choose to stay away from their home for pursuing their education, as a result they have to be independent and confident since they can no longer depend on their parents to take care of them or give them tips to make their decisions in daily life that they have to do those by themselves. Freedom is also a popular reason why people like this form of life because you would be able to eat anywhere, let their living zone untidy or do whatever they want without facing constant judgment or criticism. Furthermore, many long-lived people do not wish to live the hectic, fast-paced lifestyle in hustle and bustle cities and prefer to live a slower-paced, peaceful, healthier lifestyle in the countryside during the rest of their time.

On the other hand, this trend also brings several drawbacks. First of all, the old often suffer from diseases such as heart attack or mental problems, and by living alone, they are in the absence of the care and attention from their children that is really dangerous. Secondly, children will have less interaction and influence from their grandparents, and potentially miss out on important life lessons from their grandparents who have lots of valuable life experience. In addition to that, crucial tradition and customs may also lost from generation to generation. Finally, solo living, or in a small family groups can lead to poor family bonds between generations.

In conclusion, the shrink of household size is accompanied by both merits and demerits. Personally, I have faith in this tendency carries disadvantages rather than advantages.