In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Family has been a controversial topic of debate for a long time. People in metropolises prefer living alone or nuclear family to staying in an extended family. From my point of view, this trend has both positive and negative impacts on human life so I will disscuss two views of this issue in this essay.

On the one hand, one of the main reasons leading to this phenomenon is that living in one or a small family enables people to have privacy or comfort and freedom as their wishes. Individuals can be satisfied to do whatever they want without asking permission from their parents and are not affected by others. For a particular example, youngsters who stay alone have an independent life such as staying up late, watching television, and hanging out with their friends until midnight without any complaints. Besides, a person who is living in small family often experiences fewer chances of conflicts. Moreover, it is easy for two-generation families to have family bonding activities such as sharing dinner time, shopping, having trips, and picnics.

On the other hand, one-person households are more vulnerable as facing financial and health issues. Life is indeed more complex and difficult, especially because the cost of living has increased so dramatically. Without the help from other people, it would be impossible for many people to pay all living costs such as buying a car, paying a deposit, or even purchasing food. Furthermore, for some people, particularly the elderly, living alone could trigger mental illness such as depression or autism if people segregate themselves from the human connection in the long run.

To sum up, i think living solitary life or in a small family always have pros and cons. Therefore, i personally uncertain whether positive or not.