Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

For the survival of human species, the environment, that surrounds them, needs to be protected and taken care of. For that, substantial steps are needed to be executed, not only by governments and big corporations, but also by us, the individuals, that have a great impact on the environment. What are we able to do to make such improvements? This essay will discuss that to a great extent, we are responsible and capable of making a change, with the help of governing bodies and corporations.

There are many ways and techniques through which, we are able to make good changes for the environment. Such techniques can include, recycling plastic, paper and other wastes, and trying to use items that are green-friendly. For example, there has been a new trend, that people try to turn food waste and animal residues into fertilizers, which not only helps to recycle the wastes into a useful process but also helps to reduce the chances of trash ending up on the sideways and parks. Also, bamboo stick made straws have taken the place of plastic straws, which leads to a decline in use of plastic of about 30 million tonnes per year. Hence when such activities are followed, positive impacts are made on the environment.

For making a great change on the environment, the support and part-taking of governments and other organizations has key importance. There are many ways through which it is possible for such bodies to help make a difference. That can be done by raising awareness among people through implementing support groups, organizing special events in which families can part-take while including some fun activities, that can be prizes for collecting the most trash, stuff animals for children when parks are made tidy by them on special field trips.

To conclude, positive changes must be made in order to nurture and improve our environment, which is not possible, unless and until each individual realizes their duty. Moreover, governments and large companies also need to take such steps and allocate resources that could further help in improving the environment and nature.