Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that government and big business have a critical role to play in improving the environment. While some argue that individuals are therefore powerless to help combat environmental degradation, I completely disagree with this view.

On the one hand, both governments and large enterprises can and should take steps to prevent an ecological crisis. From a government perspective, policies must be enacted and enforced internationally. These must cover a wide range of issues, such as the protection of endangered species, a halt to habitat destruction, and funding research into alternative energy sources, to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels. In terms of corporate responsibility, producers should not discharge toxic chemical waste into rivers or the sea and they must cut down on emissions from factories to fight climate change. They should also aim to achieve sustainable development by not depleting natural resources, for example by deforestation.

On the other hand, there are many actions that individuals can take to care for the environment. These include changing patterns of consumption. For instance, products which are environmentally friendly, such as green detergent brands, are widely available in the shops, so that it is easy to change buying habits. Buying local products is another option, reducing food miles. A different type of action is to join one of the organisations in the green movement, like Greepeace. Individuals can help these groups to raise funds to protect plants and animals on the brink of extinction and to strengthen campaigns for government interventions and initiatives.

In conclusion, while governments and corporations carry a great responsibility for alleviating environmental problems, individuals have a signficant role to play. I therefore totally disagree that individuals are powerless to contribute towards saving the planet.