Nowadays, environmental protection has become one of the most important
issues the public are concerned about. While some people deem that it is the
responsibility of the government and big companies to protect the environment
because they hold the power and pool the resources necessary while
individuals are too feeble to make much effort, I think that every individual can
make a difference.
There is an old saying goes as: Constant efforts bring success. This means that
individuals did have the capacity to save our motherland if they band together
and move towards the same direction. For example, if everyone in China saves
one piece of paper every day, nearly a million trees can be saved in one day.
Therefore, we must realize the power of each person and shoulder our own
responsibility.
Moreover, the most important thing must be the effect on big companies and
factories caused by public awareness and habits. Specifically, environmental-
friendly behaviors of the public can largely influence the business strategies of
big companies. For example, when disposable plastic bags are not popular
anymore in the market, the manufacturers will stop their production and find eco-friendly replacements such as fabric bags. Thus, the power of individuals is
maximized and makes a big difference.
However, that is not to say we should ignore the responsibility of the
government and big companies. Admittedly, in solving some large-scale
problems like deforestation and greenhouse effect, the government and big
companies should fully harness their technology and power to come up with
strategic plans.
In summary, everyone is responsible in protecting our planet. Meanwhile, the
government and big companies should shoulder their responsibilities and make
full use of their power and resources. Only in this way can we assure that we
can hand over the planet to our next generation.