" Intelligence is the key to success"

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Success is a major topic of concern in modern society. It is argued that intellectual ability plays a crucial role in achieving success. Personally, I partly agree with this idea for some following reasons.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons to believe that intelligence can lead to success. The first one is that smart people are believed to have the ability to process information and learn essential skills faster. Thus they can accumulate more extensive lessons and handle their work more effectively, which is crucial for gaining promotion to high positions. In addition, intelligent students usually do well at school and are more likely to pursue higher academic education in a university or college. As a result, they will have more opportunities to do a successful profession.

On the other hand, intelligence aside, to achieve success, we need many other important factors such as regular practice. The most successful students are not always the ones who are the most intelligent, but instead those who practice and make revisions frequently to accumulate valuable experiences. For example, when recruiting for important positions in the company like managers, employers often prioritize candidates with more experience than smart ones. Besides, there are many careers requiring skills that you can not achieve without practice, such as chefs or athletes.

In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I do believe that while intelligence takes the lion’s share in the ability to succeed, it seems to me that if you do not practice and learn from your mistakes, you may not attain the accomplishment you desire