International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country.

To what extent do you agree to disagree?

It is often said that sports and music transcend cultural, linguistic and religious barriers. People from all around the world water in one space and put their best efforts in pursuit of the same goal and it is considered greatly honourable to be able to offer the stage on which participants compete against each other.

However, costs and other problems involved have invoked a highly contentious issue as to whether being a host country is truly all it is cracked up to be based on cost-benefit analysis. The opponents contend that costs incurred in respect of international sporting events, such as the Olympics far surpass the benefits it provides and therefore, we should not host any games. If we consider the facilities and infrastructure, we must construct in preparation for an event, their contentions are not one which is far-fetched or unreasonable. Especially, we must consider their one-off nature, whereby facilities and infrastructures tend to be used only momentarily when an even is held.

Nevertheless, we must not forget secondary benefits that events entail in addition to what are considered as primary benefits, such as promotional effects. For instance, an event may be a great opportunity for one country to promulgate its cultural or other values it holds, the effects of which are to follow in the long run. It can also be a stage on which political conflicts can be resolved in the name of sportsmanship.

Therefore, we should not overlook the long-term benefits that International events bring when considering the pros and cons. I, personally, am of opinion that hosting counties should welcome nomination.