Rightfully regarded as one of the foremost breakthrough of the latest century, the Internet has made it into our daily life changing the way we work, interact, and enjoy leisure time. What some decades ago seemed to be science fiction, it is reality nowadays. Connecting people living in different continents, listening to music coming from other nations, receiving news from all over the world is not nothing short of a miracle. Without leaving our room we have the potential to explore the whole planet. In the wake of this fact some even believe that traveling is unnecessary. This essay will examine this point of view and comparing the pros and cons of it.

Conversely to our ancestors who had to set off in search of food and better climatic conditions, most of us now travel to far places for pleasure. Since the dawn of mankind, humans thirst for exploration. It is this powerful drive that have pushed humans to climb mountains, to surf the oceans, and to conquest the glaciers, It is no surprise therefore that the flame fueling the desire of discovery is still burning and that new technology helps to keep it alive. Thanks to the Internet it is possible to plan a holiday, to pick the perfect hotel, and to book the cheapest flight in a matter of seconds. Yet, whether the Internet can actually supersede a real travel is still up for debate.

Although the Web offers an incredible aid when it comes to getting information about an unknown country, claiming that traveling has lost its significance is a gross understatement. Visiting a country is like tasting a new dish. Only through our physical senses can we appreciate the landscape, the architecture, the flavor, and the sounds of a foreign country. The Internet has the power to open windows on far-flung nations, but only the real contact can make us understand how they live. Although all the travel around the world might not be enough to bridge cultures distant from each other and to engender deep cross-cultural awareness, it still remains a powerful weapon to narrow the gap among nations.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that the Internet provides a reliable tool to explore cities and countries away from us, but it will never completely substitute the experience of a real journey. To understand how foreign countries life, requires much more commitment than getting a glimpse of them surfing the Internet. Those who foretell that travel is going to disappear, should be aware that this outcome is a long shot.