It is argued that mobile phones and other electronic devices have no place in the classroom. To what extent you agree or disagree?

In this age of electronics and information, the use of mobile phones and other devices cannot be ruled out in society. Due to the importance of electronic devices such as mobile phones for communication and research, their use has become common and pervasive in society. However, despite the importance of mobile phones and other electronic devices, their use should be restricted in certain places and conditions. For instance, mobile phones, iPads, cameras and laptops should not be allowed in the classroom. This essay would discuss these electronic devices should not be allowed in the classroom.

The use of electronic devices in the classroom may affect students’ ability to concentrate in class. In the classroom, students are required to pay attention to their teacher and so, they may get distracted by having these devices in class. For instance, students may receive calls or text messages on their mobile phones or even play video games on their laptops and iPads instead of paying attention in class. This would affect their academic performance, resulting in dropping out of school and social vices.

Despite these negative impacts of the use of electronic devices in the classroom, the use of these devices in the classroom can also be beneficial to students in some way. Students could use their laptops, iPads or mobile phones to search for information or even verify information whilst in class. This would help students to understand the class topic as well as enables them to ask their teacher relevant questions. For instance, in one of my university lectures, a student used his laptop to verify information/data for the lecturer.

In conclusion, although electronic devices could have benefits for students in class, I still think, the use of these devices in class causes more harm than good and, thus should not be allowed in the classroom.