It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children’s actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion that parents should be penalized for the law-breaking of their children because of parental responsibility. While taking responsibility for the child as their parents are right, I believe that it is necessary to punish the juvenile for their wrong actions.

First of all, it is right for parents to take responsibility for their children's mistakes because children's misbehaviors stem from a lack of parental care. To make a full living, parents have to focus on their work and do not care much for their kids so the child depends on smartphones for entertainment without knowing about the effect of the content. Moreover, there is a misconception among some parents that they believe school is the best place to take care of their children so they leave their kids to keep concentrating on their job. However, some recent studies said that the rate of school violence has increased significantly in many countries because of these unprincipled.

On the other hand, I believe that children who commit directly must be punished in some ways. Firstly, the kids are too young to understand their behavior, so the punishment will help them realize the mistake, and they will not repeat their offense. When the child is not corrected about their fault, they will think that doing this action does not impact them and they tend to do it again. For instance, when a child steals some things out of curiosity, and without punishment, they will repeat their actions and possibly theft of valuables that affect society in the future. Therefore, deserved punishments should be given to them to reduce the cause of juvenile delinquency in the long term.

In conclusion, besides parents should take responsibility for the faults of their children, children also need to be punished for their misbehavior.