Nowadays, many students choose to take a year off after completing schools and before joining universities. This essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of the trend being commonly adopted by younger generations.

Let us begin by looking at the advantages first. Travelling is by far one of the most common ways that most undergraduates would love to utilise the gap year experience and they often find this type of strategy wonderfully refreshing. As touring enables students to encounter new people, discover alien cultures and taste different delicious foods, they tend to sound extremely excited and stimulated. So, being a year behind helps to relieve enormous stress, which is often experienced in schools. Secondly, graduates prefer working since the costs get immensely expensive in large numbers of universities. With salaries, savings can be built up, which may be used to pay fees for further study. Not only could students earn wages but also they would acquire essential skills. As a result, getting jobs in the coming days becomes convenient because employers lay number one priority over employees undergoing considerable trainings.

Turning to the other side of the argument, loosing momentum has been the major drawback. In other words, deferring colleges for a year takes learners with classroom experience, so they might be a rusty when they return. Moreover, the learners are likely to seethe with bitter frustrations to see their classmates ahead of them in educational activities. Another disadvantage is that they may no longer be students. This can be exemplified by the fact that the majority of them are likely to enjoy the transitions of school lives to a new world owing to the attractive salaries, exciting opportunities and wonderful foreign adventures.

In conclusion, although there are benefits and drawbacks, personally, I believe that taking a break completely depends upon the personal and financial aspects.