Have you ever considered human lives without the capital punishment? In absence of the death penalty, our lives are more vulnerable and the crimes of violence simply soar. So the capital punishment is necessary to curb heinous crimes in the society. I completely agree with this idea. In this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples.

This can be explained by the fact that this type of punishment is arguably the greatest deterrent to criminals and potential criminals. That is to say, criminals would be readily deterred if they knew that the punishment would be death. Undoubtedly, human beings naturally fear to die. Not only it prevents them from engaging in criminal activities but also it generates tremendous horror in them. Take hanging for illustration. In Saudi Arabia, hardcore criminals are hanged in public. So people witness live unnecessary prolonged suffocations and sufferings of convicted criminals. Every one would agree that criminals would think twice before commiting crimes, knowing that he would be punished by death. Therefore, there can be no doubt that this type of execution discourages potential offenders.

A further reason is that barbaric crimes such as murders, rapes, drugs trafficking and so on can be reduced drastically. Which is why, some countries are actively carrying out the death penalty. Take China for an instance, where marketing, carrying and using illegal drugs are punishable by death. As a result, the rate of illegal drug dealings have plunged markedly over the last few years. So you see how the death penalty can limit effectively the evil acts?

To conclude, we can say beyond any doubt that the death penalty is worthwhile in overcoming monstrous crimes and creating a safe and peaceful society.