Nowadays, every time you turn on the TV, go to the movies or read a magazine and listen to radio programs, you will find more illicit activities of celebrities than good activities. However, do positive aspects of them outweigh their negative aspects? I am totally in favour of idea of celebrities having overall bad influence. In this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples.

It is clear that, some celebrities have dangerous effect on teens interms of use and abuse of alcohol and drugs. What I mean by this is that, teens see these people partying, drinking alcohol or doing drugs, and they think they should too. Subsequently, this sends the message to teens that in order to have fun or be cool, you have to use these substances. Teens may begin to think that it is no big deal, and this can cause serious problems leading to and including drug and alcohol addictions, risk taking behaviours and even death.

Another the most common problems that occur are issues with self-esteem for teens, especially teen girls. When a teen girl flips through her favorite fashion magazine, she is inundated with pictures revolving around the erroneous belief that celebrities are perfect. The air-brushed pictures and pin-thin models can cause body images issues for teens. In trying to make themselves look like the pictures that they see, teens can cause real damage to their bodies. Working out too much or not eating enough can lead to an eating disorder, such as anorexia or bulimia.

Having said that, they have positive aspects too. There are actors who tend to lend charities, the top athletes who launch after school programs and so on. Take Salman Khan for instance. He is the superstar of Bollywood. He has enormous donations on various cancer charities. As a result of which, numerous cancer patients are able to fight against cancer and return to normal livelihood.

All in all, although there are worth admiration works like huge contributions to charities, being true inspirations for school students and so on. And shameful effects like excessive alcohol intake and drug misuse. I believe the negative impacts readily overcome any positives.