Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is clear that highways are great help for people to travel swiftly and reach a destination in time. Nevertheless, they pose serious problems; this essay will discuss the two prime issues of thoroughfares and put forward some ideal solutions.

To begin with, one of the biggest threats of freeways is that they can be terribly dangerous. What I mean by this is that in many countries, speed limit on main roads is often very high, which can be the obvious sources to be involved in fatal accidents. Over and above that most people especially youngsters, they love to drink and drive in this type of wide throughways regardless of appalling weather. And the strong possibilities of it is likely the fatal death which we have frequently read in daily newspapers and watched in the televisions. Therefore, these types of troubles can be solved readily if government reduced the speed thresholds, adopted tough laws and handed down stiff punishments to those people who will violate the rules and regulations.

Another alarming matter of expressways can be considerable damage to a pristine environment. To put it in another way, this type of superways are usually constructed with dramatic clearance of alien trees, forests and so on, which are generally regarded as the lungs of the earth. Not only these infrastructures are damaging to fragile ecosystems but also they are causing air and noise pollutions secondary to the use of old quality vehicles and subsequently a surge in the levels of emissions and annoying noises. So, these problems can be tackled if the government selected suitable places as building undergrounds and tunnels rather than chopping down dense jungles. And all the drivers should be encouraged to drive environmental friendly cars which could help in dwindling the amount of harmful gases namely carbon dioxide and methane. Putting up sound proof fences and motivating to use new vehicles can be a perfect solution to get rid of unnecessary uproars.

To conclude, much as roadways are blessings for all of us, there are pressing problems as pollutions and potential tragic deaths. However, with diligent preparations and plannings, the government could address the above mentioned major worrying concerns.