Child obesity has been an increasingly worrying issue. A growing number of people believe that TV advertising junk food has real impact on children health. It is their claim that TV commercials publicising fast foods must not be shown before 9pm. I am totally in favour of this idea. I will present my idea with relevant examples.

It is clear that children are readily tempted by junk foods advertising in television. They often feel hungry, happy and exciting by the commercials. Moreover, some children even tried to lick the TVs screen. In addition, advertising by celebrities, beautiful colours and clowns voice even make more alluring to them. One third of children, when they reach the end of primary school, they are already obese. So, it is necessary to act quickly in order to prevent children suffering from diabetes, heart disease and cancer. One of the best ways to tackle the issue is to curb the junk foods advertising before 9 pm and to impose taxes on junk foods.

Having said that, parents are also responsible for the obesity of their children. Parents are often accused of killing their children with their kindness. The surveys have found shocking levels of negligence and complacency among parents, which is beleived to cause children to eat wrong sorts of foods and sitting around the whole day. Parents generally lack confidence to take their children for out door activities because they feel insecure outside. As a consequence, the children are prone to gain excess weight. So parents should be made aware about the deadly complications of obesity by teachers and governments.

All in all, although child obesity is an exploding nightmare, it can be controlled by banning junk foods advertising and by educating the parents.