It is expected in the near future that there will be a higher proportion of old people compared to the younger population in some countries. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and examples.

Many countries are currently undergoing a significant change in their demographics where the percentage of older people is now exceeding that of younger people. This phenomenon has the potential to lead to disastrous results, but the outcomes are not all bad.

On the positive side, a higher proportion of elderly citizens generally indicates a declining birthrate. Because of the harm caused by high populations, such as environmental degradation and resource depletion, having more older people might be a sign that the population is falling. For example, Japan has a low birthrate and minimal immigration to support its population and, as a result, it now has a disproportionate number of people in the oldest age groups with an population that is decreasing overall.

However, an ageing population brings a range of harmful effects. As people live longer they generally work longer, which can reduce the amount of employment opportunities for younger people and lead to social disharmony as a huge number of young people are out of work. Moreover, the social contract in most societies is that the older people are taken care of by younger people when they become too old to look after themselves. However, it is obvious that if young people are greatly outnumbered by older people, then this system will break down with unpleasant results. Some countries are already trying to address these issues by developing robot helpers that can assist older people with their daily tasks instead of the job being performed by the younger generation.

Overall, a balance of age groups is desirable. There are alarming examples, such as one-child policies, that show what can happen when one particular group becomes too dominant and it is an issue that requires urgent attention.