It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some, on the one hand, cite that certain people take advantage of having a natural ability which can lead to mastering profession effortlessly, while many are strongly opposed to such this notion arguing that “all people” have the potential to become an expert by being exposed to a great education system. This essay will consider both sides and give a concluding view.

Those who support the idea of “the gifted child” cite that they can easily achieve personal or professional goals by making use of their talent. Examples can be seen in people who have a gift for music or languages even when they are very young. In addition, the abilities and talents that children inherit from their parents can pave the ground to reach at the top of their profession.

By contrast, opponents of this view point out that this does not hold true for everyone. There are people who never get a chance to discover their natural ability or even if they could find out, they don’t know how to put it to use. Thus, they need some experts in their professional fields who teach and push them down to the right route. Another argument is acquiring a technical knowledge, especially in today’s knowledge-based world, which has a crucial role to reveal talents through the learning process. Finally, it should be noted that it is more the matter of being exposed to a good educational context to have the opportunity for professional development.

Overall, it is logical to conclude that all people are likely to be successful in some fields by showing interest in some areas and continuing to develop their specific skills to the point that they reach their goals. This effort seems to be more important than exclusively rely on our genetic characteristics.