It is a good idea for teenagers to have jobs while they are still students.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Recently, there has been a highly controversial issue about whether or not high school students should work part-time while studying. From my perspective, students will gain working experience and various skills, but it is essential to keep in mind that studying is still their top priority.

On the one hand, devoting too much time to working can lead to worse academic results. In other words, when students work more, they will have less time left for revisions and doing assignments. In some cases, the job can be so overwhelming that students fail classes or quit altogether, especially low-income students. Furthermore, the tiredness and pressure from the workplace will create additional stress, which can result in procrastination and decreased memory and concentration.

On the other hand, many people, including me, believe that the benefits obtained from half-time jobs outweigh the aforementioned drawbacks. First of all, students will develop their interpersonal skills. Student employment provides students with the opportunity to learn how to interact and communicate with people with different personalities and backgrounds in real life, which is an essential skill in all types of jobs. Another advantage is that part-time employment gives you valuable working experience that will make you stand out more during a job search. Employers these days generally prefer to hire those with some form of work experience, as they already have a rough understanding of workplace ethics and the professional world. Finally, students get extra money and learn how to manage their money wisely. For example, students can pay the bills and tuition fees, and buy the needed materials, which will somewhat reduce the financial burden on their parents. When teenagers start making money on their own, they will become more cautious about how they spend their hard-earned cash, leading to better budgeting and fewer mounting debts later on.

In conclusion, it is evident that having a job while being a student offers them various opportunities to grow and learn that will benefit them academically and in the long run. However, students should be able to identify their main goal and keep themselves healthy and ready for studying.