It is the government's responsibility to provide financial support to old people after they retire or individuals should save money for themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, some people are paying attention to a controversy. They believe that governments should provide financial support to the retired people instead of individuals’ saving money for themselves. From my perspective, the former is more reasonable.

Initially, governments financial support is more stable than individuals saving. When they get retired, these old people/ elderly people/ the elder suffer from some severe diseases and need huge expense. Also, it will cost their total saving, and governments subsidy could help them to deal with it, to guarantee their daily expense. in addition, citizens have already paid taxes when they are employed. It is the government’s obligation to give taxers pension when they retire.

Secondly, governments financial support is more coverage. Some people do not have individuals saving. This phenomenon is quite normal in the rural area, spend salary on their daily cost without saving. So, when they retired, the governments should provide financial support to ensure their daily life.

Although the financial support is government’s duty,senior citizens still need to save money for themselves. First, if the pension takes up the significant part of government’s financial expenditure, the cost on science and construction industry will be reduced. Furthermore, in some countries, especially those developing ones, governments are facing the financial deficit, which means there is no enough money to provide pension for all old people . Without precautions, the old will live a miserable life, so under this circumstance, they need to save money in advance.

In my opinion, they should balance the government’s duty and their own obligation. In other words, the elder ought to accept the financial support while they need to find some jobs which can help the retired people earn some money for their daily cost. If them have more individual saving, it will reduce the government’s financial pressure.