It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that reading is the best pleasure activity over watching TV as it develops creative thinking and communication skills. I completely agree to this argument as reading always cultivates intelligence and visualization capabilities whereas television could bring severe health issues in ones life.

On the one hand, reading as a free-time activity develops creativity and language skills in the individuals. Reading famous novels such as "The Alchemist" by Paulo Coehlo, for instance, helps the rader to visualize the beautiful landscapes and people narrated in the story without seeing them. Each ones imagination would be different in theor own ways. In addition to that, they get familearize with the type of language the charecters speak in the scenes. These features shape the individual with the developed intelligence and linguistic skills which they could use in their furture. Besides, while reading, everyone goes through every printed alphabets and words that appear to enhance a strong vocabulary to the reader.

In contrast, watching television for a longer time bring only instantaneous entertainment with a lot of severe health issues and lifestyle chaos. For example, a successful talk show by a celebrity, such as 'Ellen's show' takes away much amount of time from its viewers daily and they await the next episode eagerly alloting the time. In fact, they are productively zero in such times and by doing this they become lazy and obese. Once addicted, it is difficult and expensive to bring them back to normal life style. Moreover such TV programs do not create any useful attributes in the viewer as all the information is already presented with much of visual and content-rich formats.

In conclusion, reading is always appear to help people in creating new attributes like imagination and communication skills. Watching television could only harm an individual by making one unhealthy and sedentary. It is hoped that people allocate only required time in front of television and focus more on reading of books.