It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the advantages of such a development outweigh the disadvantages? ​Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the explosion of the economy, lots of people get richer, and then coming to a conclusion that everyone hopes to have some so-called basic needs like a car, a TV or even a fridge. In my opinion, there are more drawbacks than benefits for this phenomenon.

The most crucial disadvantage is this will damage our environment. It is evident that the companies manufacturing these stuffs consume huge amount of materials from the nature, such as iron. Not only they take wealth from environment, but also the cars and fridges produced by them can exhaust chemicals to air, leading to climate issues such as global warming. As a result, these unnecessary productions need to be limited to protect our environment.

Furthermore, another problem is causing negative social influence. When everyone has a need for those products, the people who don’t own it may feel depress and shameful. This is called competitive pressure. Although someone argues that these are not luxuries and can contribute to ecnomy, clearly cars,TVs or fridges are precious to those poor groups that their properties and feelings should be taken into consideration.And some richer people will buy if they want,there is no necessity for those poors to buy these expensive stuff. To avoid this bad social impact, we have to stand opposite to the viewpoint that everyone should have those products.

In conclusion, this suggestion has more cons than pros. The environmental destroy and social problems caused overweigh the boost of economy. I suppose the poor’s needs are more essential than everyone’s needs.