It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Whatsortofpunishmentshouldparents andteachersbeallowedto use to teach good behaviour to children?

As people usually foster their values from a very early age, there is no doubt that learning what is right or wrong is an essential lesson to be taught. There is a prevailing view held by many people that it’s necessary to take advantage of punishment in order to help children understand the distinction.

In my opinion, I do agree with this statement since punishment can be more effective in educating children if used in a suitable way, compared with appraise. The phenomenon of using punishment is very common in our life. Although the punishment might be related to some unpleasant memories, it could have a significant impression on children’s memory and make children clear about the lesson they learn.

Another reason for supporting punishment is that constant appraise without punishment might be counter-productive and generate a bad outcome. If children grow up without scolding or punishment from anyone, it’s likely for them to be arrogant and stubborn, which is certainly not what parents expect to see.

Therefore, punishment is an essential part for teaching children as long as it’s used in a correct way. Parents cannot punish their kids in a way that it can have any detrimental effect on children’s mental or physical health. The meaning of punishment is to teach a lesson rather than hurt them. For example, if children behave in a bad way, parents can ask their children to admit their mistakes and render them clear what a good child should do.

In a conclusion, teaching children is always complicated and punishment can be a very effective way for educational uses as long as it’s used in an appropriate way that can’t be harmful for children’s mental as well as physical development.