It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is crucial to raise a child into a good individual in the society. Some people believe we should employ punishment to help children establish good behaviors at an early age. I totally agree with this opinion.

Although some people think it is enough to tell someone what is right and what is wrong, this is obviously not the case for children as their brains are still new to how the world works. If no punishment takes place, then children may take the words lightly. They may not remember what they have been taught, or they may underestimate the consequences of their actions. So, they will likely repeat their wrong actions given a chance.

However, if a punishment is applied, then children will take the words seriously and unable to forget them. Every time a bad intention comes up in their mind, their body will reflexively remind them of the past punishment of a similar action.

How should we apply punishment on children? Eastern residents tend to punish children by violence, while Western residents believe it is better to deter them from their favorite activities such as playing games or watching TV. The latter should be encouraged. As violence may cause children to suffer mental problems, they may grow up into a criminal instead of becoming a good adult.

In conclusion, while punishing children for their wrongdoings may help them remember what is wrong, too much of it may lead to mental issues in children. Therefore, parents and teachers should study different kinds of punishment carefully before applying any of them.