It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Children are the future builders of a country, so it is essential to teach them to do good behaviour which is the duty of parents and teachers. There are many useful ways to help youngsters learn the difference between good and bad behaviour without punishment. Therefore, I totally disagree with the idea of using punishment when teaching children.

To begin with, punishment that is used on children could have negative effects on their personality when they group up. In more detail, children may become violent and have aggressive behaviour towards people around them, like exactly what they had been through when they were kids. A large amount of research shows that a child who has been punished is more likely to grow up as a violent person than others. In contrast, when the adults use some ways which are more gentle to teach children, they tend to behave tenderly. It seems that parents and teachers should not use punishment as a way to help their children distinguish right and wrong behaviour.

However, many people still claim that using punishment is important in educating children about the difference between good and bad behaviour. They may believe that a strict method would help children remember longer and not repeat bad behaviour. But I argue that this way may make the kids misunderstand their parents or teachers' purposes. Particularly, they could feel that they are not loved and have bad memories, which may lead to the worst case, they hate their family or teachers. For example, a child would speak badly of a teacher because he or she has to write wrongs as a punishment for not doing homeworks. As a result, there would be no change in behaviour of the kids.

In conclusion, although some people think that it is necessary to use punishment in teaching children about behaviour, I personally believe that view is not right since this way exerts negative effects on the children’s personality and sentiment towards their parents or teachers.