It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Opinions diverge on whether children have to learn the difference between right and wrong through punishment. Although I am in opposition to the statement, some methods could be applied to mold children’s manners and behaviors.

Perceptibly, punishment can cause bodily harm. This can be explained that children will experience injuries like broken bones, eye and tooth trauma, or even more serious psychological trauma once adults could not control their anger toward children. Those full-body injuries are terrifying obsessions that seemingly lead to severe harm later for children. Moreover, punishment can trigger mental illnesses. Children who are under punishment are scared of interacting with the outside world, this can be a cause for their shyness and introversion when they are mature. Once children show signs of excessive vigilance, they are easily startled, fatigued and exhausted. Therefore, I censure the practice of punishing children.

To be more specific, there are few healthier methods that can educate children instead of punishing them. The reason is that parents can show children by watching videos about good behaviors or teachers can assign assignments from mistakes and reckless behavior. Further and even more importantly, from activities in contact with society children can develop their thinking and feelings, thereby having a positive attitude to life. This suggests that children will have a good opportunity to share their feelings and spread positive energy for everyone around. Hence, there should be positive and healthy educational measures for children.

By way of conclusion, I firmly chastise the way of applying negative punishment, the aforementioned measures represent a better perspective and are more effective for children.