It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

These days, a vast majority of people claims that it would be beneficial for children if they started to learn the differences between right and wrong in early ages. Parents prefer to apply various punishment methods to their children in order to make them able to distinct these two different things. I partly agree with the necessity of punishments which is helpful in teaching the differences between right and wrong to children but there have to be limitations in the punishments. In this essay, I am going to support my opinion by giving what examples of punishments that might be advantageous in raising up children.

Firstly, no one can claim that they had not done any mistakes as they were child. So as everyone does mistakes, we have to be careful toward our children as well. Whenever they have mistakes, we should not apply them heavy punishments but their behaviors also should not be excused. In the case of having done wrong things, parents must give small punishments, such as forbidding to go outside or doing something that they are willing. As a result, children might understand that what they are doing is wrong and it can bring trouble to themselves.

On the other hand, it is well-known that most of the time pupils disobey their teachers at school. This kind of attitudes of children leads to anger of the teacher. However, teachers has to be careful in such situations and punishments as giving burden of homework or forcing pupils for activities as community services might be quite straightforward punishments for children.

To sum up, most of the time it is challenging to teach children the difference between right and wrong. However, punishments as forbidding some activities or giving load of homework might affect behavior of children positively and they can understand this distinction.