It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

Although there is no doubt that children should learn how to behave properly early in their life, whether or not they should be punished to learn this is a matter of considerable debate. I support the idea that punishments are necessary, but the methods used by parents nowadays are not always right. This essay will describe why I agree with this point of view and propose a punishment which parents and teachers might use.

First of all, most youngsters should be punished from time to time, as in the past it proved to be the most effective way to guide them in the right direction. Of course, parents must not chastise their offspring for unimportant reasons, but sometimes penalties are just necessary. For instance, a child who broke a window on purpose while playing football should be punished, as not respecting other people’s property may lead to crimes and misdemeanors. On the other hand, punishments may show this child that they were wrong, which may affect their future behavior.

However, parents and teachers should not be given absolute freedom in upbringing children, as I believe some methods of penalties, such as physical, are inappropriate. This is because corporal punishments may lead to unintended consequences, as juveniles tend to copy the behavior of their parents. For example, if parents often beat their children, the latter may become more aggressive and uncontrollable. What parents should do instead is to punish by withholding rewards, as, in my view, this is the best way to teach someone to do something.

To conclude, while I support the idea that punishments are necessary, some methods, such as corporal penalties, should be discouraged. In my opinion, the best discipline parents could use is to withhold rewards.